Our Partners

National and Federal partners address the NWRPCA board of directors

About Federal
Region X

The federal government subdivides the country into geographic regions for the purpose of delivery of services. For the support of health services, the United States Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) has created Region X. You may view a map depicting the ten regions here.

Region X includes the northwestern states of Alaska, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. With a population of 12.5 million, the region covers 1.5 million miles, 80% of which is within the state of Alaska. It includes 267 Indian tribes. In 2010, the last year for which federal data is currently available, 1,240,005 patients were served in Region X federally funded health care facilities in more than four million patient encounters. Of that number, 122,759 were migrant and seasonal farmworkers. The total cost of this care for the four-state area was $1.062 billion.

HRSA provides some of the funding for community, rural and migrant health centers in Region X through the Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC).  Northwest Regional Primary Care Association interacts with BPHC on behalf of the health centers of our region.

There are currently 84 federally funded community health centers in Region X; 75 of them are members of NWRPCA. Itself a recipient of federal funds from HRSA, NWRPCA is responsive to the needs of all federally qualified health centers in the region, regardless of their membership status. While NWRPCA members enjoy a direct link to our services and are more likely to take advantage of them, all our services are available to the health centers of the entire northwest region.

Located on one of the nation’s “last frontiers,” the Northwest is home to some of America’s most spectacular landscapes, including the highest mountain peaks, deserts, lush evergreen forests, fertile orchards and agricultural fields, glaciers, rain forests and breathtaking cityscapes. From the urban life of Seattle and Portland to the air-access-only Alaskan tundra, the Northwest provides almost any lifestyle a visitor or resident might hope to experience. And in every scenario, community health centers appropriate to their own locales provide primary health care to local residents of all social strata, regardless of financial or insurance status.

Primary Care Associations

Primary care associations (PCAs) are non-profit organizations that support and strengthen health centers and advocate for expanded access for medically underserved populations. Some PCAs focus on a single state while others cover several states. Specifically, PCAs work to:

  • Expand primary care capacity
  • Increase public awareness and improve the public perception of safety net providers
  • Promote strategic alliances and integrated systems that link safety net and other providers to address multiple patient needs

Today, 54 PCAs work throughout the United States and its territories. The staff of NWRPCA works with many PCAs on a variety of issues, but we count among our closest partners the PCAs in Alaska, Idaho, Oregon and Washington.